top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureladyseymour

Challah Birth

Updated: Jun 7, 2020



It was her due date for her first baby. Her mucous plug came away and she called me to tell me. It was quite watery, so I said I’d come over that morning and check that it wasn’t her waters that had broken. When I got there she was having irregular, mild contractions. I checked her and the baby and all was well (the waters hadn’t broken). She asked me “should I go swimming today?” I answered that I didn’t think it was a wise idea. She seemed to be in denial. She said she would bake challah – I thought that was a much better idea. I encouraged her to rest too. As I left, she seemed to have a couple of stronger contractions. I hoped in my heart that they would continue to strengthen and that we would have a birthing today.


After lunch, the labor seemed to be gathering strength and momentum and I had a feeling, that this was the day. There would be no stalled labour… I would be back soon.


Her doula came and worked hard with many position changes and movement. Waves of contractions were getting stronger and closer together. Slogging through the afternoon traffic, I made my way into the cozy nest prepared for birthing. grandma, doula and dad were all very focused on doing their best for mom. The mood was light and joyous.


On the table where I set out my papers, also rested a big bowl of dough – its fragrant smell wafting through the air, tantalizing me each time I sat at the table. That dough sat there for hours, forgotten by our birthing mom. Dad came from time to time to punch it down, but then it was forgotten again.


The fragrance of lavender filled the birthing room and warm candles shone. The challah was finally braided by grandma and left to rise some more. More contractions, more breathing through.


Coated with egg and placed in the oven to bake. Feeling pressure – baby is getting close.


The smell of freshly baked challah fills the home as wisps of dark hair peek out.


And the moment of joy – birth. The first cry, so sweet, so happy, that sound. We all burst into smiles.


Six beautiful challot line the kitchen table as I finish my paperwork. The delicious smell of freshly baked challah permeates the air.


Grandma says “would you like some challah?” and I answer “yes please – that smell has been tempting me for the whole evening!!”. So, I take my challah home and it is delicious. Reminds me of a wonderful new little person, and the sacred challah baking that accompanied her on her journey out to the world.


Sarah the Midwife was with Deena Devora Jacob 💜💜💜


28 views0 comments
bottom of page