top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureladyseymour

A first time mum has a wonderful home birth

Updated: Jun 18, 2020

I don’t share every birth, because it would be over the top. Sometimes however, the yoledet is kind enough to allow me to publish some photos and I enjoy posting about the birth on my page.

Rivka was expecting her first baby and chose a home birth due to wariness of the hospital system and wanting to have a measure of control about who would attend her and what would be ‘done’ to her during birth.

We met numerous times during the pregnancy, carried out prenatal care, shared information and got comfortable with each other.

Rivka’s labour started with a boom with strong contractions from the start. Soon after, her doula, Amanda Goldman, attended her and shortly afterwards I arrived.

There was enough time to fill and enjoy the birthing pool, supplied by Waterbirth Israel (Delia Spiers). It wasn’t too long before the little guy made his appearance and he gave his first lovely cry. It was a powerful experience for all and we laughed as we marvelled at his little wrinkled form.

Today, I bade farewell to Rivka, after the postnatal home visits.

It’s always bittersweet to say goodbye, but I am sure we will keep in touch 🥰


27 views0 comments
bottom of page